Indigenous Music Awards 2010

Australia, 14 August 2010.  Fast becoming known as the ARIAs of the aboriginal music scene, the Indigenous Music Awards will take place on Saturday 28th August in Darwin. Music NT calls upon anyone working in the national music industry to participate in the nomination process for the selection of Northern Territory talent at the 2010 Indigenous Music Awards. 

The rich and remote musical landscape of the NT is home to hundreds of bands, and the Indigenous Music Awards bring together local acts who have yet to make their mark on the wrld, alongside top Territorians who have achieved international acclaim, in the presence of key industry professionals and national media. These awards continue to surprise with the breadth and depth of talent.

Now in its 7th year, the IMAs pave the way for new recording, touring and promotional opportunities for a number of NT artists, playing a significant role in the development of careers for Indigenous artists.

The 2009 winners of the Emerging Artists category, Pott Street received the highly coveted $10,000 tour prize, while major award category winners - Gurrumul and Jessica Mauboy - continue to inspire local artists back home as they both continue to make their mark on the international stage.

“These awards are an important platform to increase understanding and awareness of contemporary and traditional Aboriginal music and culture. There is benefit for all Territorians as we strive to achieve economic independence for musicians as well as flow-on tourism in a region of Australia which has the highest population percentage of practitioners and music production in the country” Music NT Manager, Mark Smith said.

Held under the stars at Darwin’s historic Amphitheatre, audiences from all over Australia will gather at the Indigenous Music Awards Ceremony to applaud the winners, enjoy the performances and soak up the ambiance of a night for music lovers of all ages and all cultures to enjoy.

2009 Award winner and headline act, Geoffrey Gurrumul Yunupingu surprised the crowd last year, inviting many of his family members on stage to sing alongside him as he performed his closing song. It’s rare moments like these that make this special family focused event a not-to-be-missed night on Darwin’s August calendar. 

Yothu Yindi, Gurrumul, Jessica Mauboy, 2009 Hall of Fame inductees Tableland Drifters and Arnhem Land rock-stars Saltwater Band have all won awards and performed in this magic environment. This year’s line up promises to be yet another spectacular showcase; and as usual will feature very special musical collaborations that will only be witnessed on this star-filled night.

"Many members of [Gurrumul’s] family… flew in from Elcho Island especially for the show and joined them on stage for the finale. It was a fitting end to the awards, in which the world-dominating Gurrumul was named Act of the Year” Iain Shedden, Music Writer for The Australian.

Here are the finalists in the 2010 Indigenous Music Awards.

 Act of the Year

 Jessica Mauboy

Geoffrey Gurrumul Yunupingu

Warren H Williams


Emerging of the Year

Garrangali – from Yilpara, North East Arnhem Land

Tjupi – from Papunya, Central Australia

Wildflower – from Mamadawerre, Arnhem Land


 Album of the Year

Waltjim Bat Matilda – Ali Mills

Garrangali – Garrangali

Freedom Road - Brian Murphy and the Band Nomadics

Looking Out - Warren H Williams


 Song of the Year

Waltjim Bat Matilda – Ali Mills

Garrangali – Garrangali

Sea Rights - Garrangali

Close your eyes – Jagit

Struggle - Pott Street


 DVD/Clip of the Year

Muthi Muthi - Garrangali

Mungurru - Garrangali

History – Geoffrey Gurrumul Yunupingu

Baracuda - Crocker island



Garrangali Album - Garrangali

Peace in Kaos - Jagit

Waltjim Bat Matilda - Ali Mills

Harold Injimardi Dalywaters & Friends - Harold Dalywaters

Desert Pop Lock – CAAMA Music Compilation


Winners will be announced on Saturday 28th August at an evening of cultural celebration for the whole family, held under the stars at Darwin’s historic Amphitheatre and tickets are on sale now for this Darwin Festival event.


2010 Indigenous Music Awards

Saturday 28th August 2010

Darwin Botanical Gardens Amphitheatre